Adventures Abroad Returns to Yemen

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, Feb. 8 /PRNewswire/ — Government travel advisories for Yemen have softened, clearing the way for the reintroduction of this fascinating country back into Adventures Abroad’s roster. With a green light from government and a revamped, exciting itinerary, the company’s first trip since 1998 sold out in days. Bookings are now being taken for their second November 2006 departure. The trip is a comprehensive exploration, featuring mountain fortresses, incredible vertical landscapes, lively markets, verdant valleys, tropical flatlands, and ancient cultures. As with all their trips, this tour is expertly led by an Adventures Abroad Tour Leader and escorted by local guides with official agent support to ensure a smooth and safe journey. Sales Manager, Lorna Lissner, recently returned from a fact- finding trip to Yemen and was astounded by the architecture, markets, scenic beauty, and the friendliness of the people.

The Republic of Yemen, composed of former North and South Yemen, is a country on the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia and is a part of the Middle East, bordering the Arabian Sea and Gulf of Aden on the south and the Red Sea on the west. Yemen was one of the oldest centres of civilization in the Near East, controlling the lucrative spice trade. The city of Sana’a, often called the “Pearl of Arabia,” is one of the world’s oldest continually inhabited cities. Founded by Shem, Noah’s son, its history is wrapped in a shroud of the past. Picturesquely situated at the foot of Jabal Nuqum at an altitude of 2,200 m, the Yemeni capital will fascinate you with its beautiful old quarter, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Adventures Abroad is in its nineteenth year of operation offering cultural / historical, adventure, and special interest tours in over a hundred different countries. With offices in Canada / USA, and the UK, the tours attract clientele from throughout the English-speaking world. Adventures Abroad is fully licensed and bonded in Canada, the United States, England, Australia, and New Zealand.

Related Articles