New Eurail National Pass

UTRECHT, The Netherlands, September 26/PRNewswire/ —
- New Eurail National Pass

- New Eurail Regional Pass Country Combination

- Romania Welcomed as New Eurail Country for Eurailpass and Eurailpass Flexi

In 2006 the best way to see Europe will get even better with the introduction of a new Eurail Pass category and new country combinations added to the Eurail Regional Pass. For the first time in its history, Eurail offers single-country rail passes, starting 1st January. Travellers will then be able to become intimately acquainted with one of 9 countries included in the Eurail National Pass program: Finland, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Norway, Poland, Romania, Spain or Sweden. With flexible validities from three to 10 travel days valid for one month or two, travellers can easily find the right match for their budget and timeframe.

“The Eurail National Pass was created to match the way many of our customers travel today,” said Rene de Groot, Eurail’s Managing Director. “More and more overseas visitors are coming to Europe for shorter periods of time, and this new pass will allow them to comfortably explore one country in depth in one trip.”

The Eurail Group also adds new country combinations to the Eurail Regional Pass, created two years ago to allow unlimited travel in two bordering countries. In addition to the original combinations ( Austria-Slovenia/Croatia; France-Italy; France-Spain; Germany-Benelux; Germany-Denmark; Greece-Italy; Hungary-Slovenia/Croatia; Romania-Hungary and Spain-Portugal), seven new combinations will be added effective from January 2006: Austria-Czech Republic, Austria-Switzerland, France-Benelux, France-Germany, France-Switzerland, Germany-Austria and Germany-Switzerland.

“We’re delighted to expand the line-up of Eurail Regional Passes,” added Rene de Groot. “The original Regional Passes have been enormously popular among travellers with a limited timeframe who wish to focus on a specific corner of Europe while travelling in style. As Eurail keeps expanding the choices, Eurail Passes allow travellers to custom tailor their own itineraries with built-in ease and flexibility.”

In addition, the 17 Eurailpass countries with validity allowing 15 days to 3 months continuous travel, or 10 or 15 travel days within two months (Eurailpass Flexi), will become 18 with the addition of Romania in 2006. There will be no changes to Eurail Selectpasses*.

The Eurail Group comprises 27 railways and shipping lines, as well as several bonus partners, and the 2006 Eurail offer includes Eurail Passes for travel by train and connecting ship in 25 European countries.

For more information about Eurail go to

All Eurail products are available from travel agents and from our authorised sales agents worldwide: ACP Rail International,; Rail Europe,; Flight Centre, and Gullivers Travel Associates

* The Eurailpass is valid in the following 18 countries: Austria (including Liechtenstein), Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France (including Monaco), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The Eurail Selectpass is also valid in Bulgaria, Croatia, Serbia & Montenegro and Slovenia.

Visit Rail Europe Today:

Related Articles