Celebrate the New 7 Wonders of the World in Lisbon

On July 7, 2007, you can view history in the making as the New 7 Wonders of the World are announced in Lisbon, Portugal.

The New 7 Wonders initiative began in 2001, with people from around the world nominating sites to rival ancient wonders like the Hanging Gardens of Babylon and the Colossus of Rhodes. The New 7 Wonders of the World will be announced on July 7, 2007, at a spectacular gala event broadcast via satellite from the Official Declaration ceremony in Lisbon Portugal. Which sites will take the top honors? The Acropolis? Machu Picchu? Stonehenge? The world will know on July 7, and you can be there.

Abreu Tours offers 3-night and 6-night packages starting at just $431 per person (double occupancy), including admission to the New 7 Wonders extravaganza. Choose from 3, 4 or 5-star hotels, with optional airfare and car rental. After the unveiling of the New 7 Wonders, take in the sites and sounds of Portugal, one of Europe’s most beautiful historic cities. Extend your trip and add on tours to Madrid, Barcelona, Oporto, or Madeira. Explore the natural beauty of the World Heritage sites of Sintra, Cascais and ArrĂ¡bida.

Bernard Weber, founder of the New7Wonders Foundation, says, “The New7Wonders campaign is a completely unprecedented global grassroots election. Such an extraordinary project, supported by millions of people around the world, deserves a truly unforgettable finale.”

Come to Lisbon and join visitors from around the world for this once-in-a-lifetime event, featuring a celebration of the cultures represented by the historic monuments that have been nominated. For more information, go to www.abreu-tours.com or call 1-800-223-1580. You may also request more information on the New 7 Wonders packages by writing to info@abreu-tours.com.

Abreu Tours is the oldest travel agency in the world, founded by Bernardo Abreu in 1840. Today, Abreu Tours is still owned by the Abreu family and continues to provide personalized services for travelers to Portugal from its offices in the United States, Brazil, Spain, England, and throughout Portugal.

The 21 finalists in the New 7 Wonders campaign are:

The Acropolis, Greece
Hagia Sophia, Turkey
The Kremlin/St. Basil’s, Russia
The Colosseum, Italy
Neuschwanstein Castle, Germany
The Eiffel Tower, France
Stonehenge, United Kingdom
The Alhambra, Spain
The Great Wall of China, China
Kiyomizu Temple, Japan
The Sydney Opera House, Australia
Angkor, Cambodia
The Taj Mahal, India
Timbuktu, Mali
Petra, Jordan
The Pyramids of Giza, Egypt
The Statue of Christ Redeemer, Brazil
The Easter Island Statues, Chile
Machu Picchu, Peru
Chichen Itza, Mexico
The Statue of Liberty, U.S.A

For more information on the New 7 Wonders, visit http://www.new7wonders.com.

Related Articles