National Trust Promotes Heritage Tourism With Annual List of America’s Dozen Distinctive Destinations

WASHINGTON, March 7 /PRNewswire/ — From a charming Adirondack town made famous a century ago for its healing powers, to the desert hideaway that holds countless treasures of modern architectural design, and the Midwest city known for its world-class museums and brewery heritage, America offers alternative vacation destinations that symbolize an increasing dedication to historic preservation. In recognition of this travel trend, The National Trust for Historic Preservation, the country’s largest private, nonprofit preservation organization, today announced the selection of its 2006 Dozen Distinctive Destinations, an annual list of unique and lovingly preserved communities in the United States.

“It is encouraging to see communities so committed to the preservation of their historic landmarks, the revitalization of their downtown areas, and the protection of their unique heritage,” said Richard Moe, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. “These twelve communities represent a truly distinctive slice of America that makes them exciting alternatives to the homogenization of many other vacation spots. It is my hope that more American cities and towns will follow the lead of these great destinations in preserving their own spirit of place.”

The 2006 list of America’s Dozen Distinctive Destinations are:
Arrow Rock, Missouri
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Lewes, Delaware
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Monterey, California
Palm Springs, California
Philipsburg, Montana
Prescott, Arizona
Saranac Lake, New York
Waimea, Kaua’i, Hawaii
West Chester, Pennsylvania

Since 2000, the National Trust has honored 84 Dozen Distinctive Destinations in 41 states. This year nearly 93 destinations in 39 states were nominated by individuals, preservation organizations and local communities.

The 12 winning communities met the following criteria: well-managed growth, a commitment to historic preservation with a protected historic core and meaningful context, interesting and attractive architecture, cultural diversity, activities for families with children, an economic base of locally- owned small businesses, and walkability for residents and visitors.

In each community, residents have taken forceful action to protect their town’s character and sense of place. Whether by enacting a local preservation law to protect historic buildings against demolition, rewriting zoning codes to prevent commercial sprawl, removing regulatory barriers to downtown housing, making downtown areas more walkable, enacting design standards, or taking some other major step that demonstrates a strong commitment to their town, residents have worked hard to preserve the historic and scenic assets of their communities, with rewards that transcend town limits.

To read full descriptions and download high resolution images of this year’s Dozen Distinctive Destinations, please visit

The National Trust for Historic Preservation is a private, nonprofit membership organization dedicated to saving historic places and revitalizing America’s communities. Recipient of the National Humanities Medal, the Trust was founded in 1949 and provides leadership, education, advocacy, and resources to protect the irreplaceable places that tell America’s story. For more information, visit

Related Articles